Tags

, , ,

Today I Learned…

I have recently discovered the evil website Reddit.  It is evil because it is a time sucker.  Whether on the phone app or the website.

Anyhow, reading this Reddit thread on unimportant things that you have an extremely strong opinion on, I saw this comment:

2016-07-01 14_52_27-What do you have an extremely strong opinion on that is ultimately unimportant_

Oookay, that’s your opinion.  Yes it is important to get it right, it’s basic grammar, spelling, and typography*.  Double space after a full stop. Except that, apparently, I am wrong again.  It’s not a double space after a period any more, it’s a single.  Cult of Pedagogy **says:

But one rule from typing class has definitely expired, and if you’re over 40, it’s possible that no one has given you the message. Here it is:

Unless you are typing on an actual typewriter, you no longer have to put two spaces after a period.

Or a question mark. Or an exclamation point. The rule applies to all end punctuation. Just one space. Really.

Yes, really.

It’s gonna take me a while to try and get used to this.  Why didn’t anyone tell me??

*I love the Oxford comma!

** Love the title of this piece: Nothing Says Over 40 Like Two Spaces after a Period!

