Tags

, , ,

A few things have happened in the last week that, while not “knocking me for six”, have certainly made for a different week.

Scotland Beckoned

Tuesday 12 July 2016 I woke at 4am worried that I was going to miss my 0845 flight to Edinburgh.  Unsurprisingly I didn’t miss it.  In Perth for work I was able to spend the evenings doing as I wanted.  I thought I would go find some Geocaches.  In two evenings I DNFd five caches, found one traditional cache and one Earthcache.  That’s not a good ratio is it?!

fisherman2  I did, however get to walk along the bank of the Tay and spend a little time watching a fisherman battle with the piscine residents.

I don’t know if he was able to catch anything or not, he was a little far away for me to speak without shouting.  I suspect he was in some zen zone and wouldn’t appreciate me interrupting him!

I was also able to go to Kinnoull Hill Woodland Park for a walk.  I was originally aiming for a virtual Geocache called The Kinnoull Tower but the walk made me realise a couple of things (as I commented in my Found It log for “The Acorn Factory“:

  1. How tired I would be having risen at 4am, flown to Scotland from Southampton, worked the afternoon.
  2. My fitness level.
  3. The midges!

It rained too, so I turned round and headed back to the hotel.

Anyone For Duck?

On Wednesday night I had what I genuinely think is the best meal I have ever eaten.  On my own with nobody to share my experience.  I went to The Postbox in Perth.  It is number two in the TripAdvisor top 10 restaurants in Perth and the rating is very very well deserved!

People will attest that I am a simple bloke with simple tastes. When I was handed an a la carte menu I was befuddled.  What do all these big words mean???  Then I saw one I recognised.  Duck.  Sweet!  Let’s take a risk on that then.  This is what arrived:

duckalacarte

I repeat, this is genuinely one of the best meals I have ever eaten.

Crappy Coughs

I got home from Scotland on Thursday afternoon and the rest of the week wasn’t much to speak of,  routine stuff – work, home etc.  Lottie came to visit on Sunday though:

lottie

Monday I was at work at 0700 and home again by 0800.  Doctor at 1020 and 30 minutes later I had an inhaler in my hand.  I don’t have asthma but I do have a viral chest infection.  Unfortunately antibiotics won’t do anything so it’s going to have to clear up on its own.  The inhaler will relieve the symptoms and open the airway which will help stop the wheezing and mean I can breathe.  The doctor reckons it will be three to four weeks before I am in good health again.

 

