Tags

, , ,

I want to say right here, right now that I am not on a diet. I have never been on a diet and never will be on a diet.

Say a word too many times and it loses all meaning. Tartlet anyone?

So, how am I losing the weight that I gained to get me to 28 stone? I had a complete change of diet. A diet is what you eat, not what you don’t.

Breakfast is usually a porridge pot or Muesli, somewhere around 200 calories. Lunch will be salad or if I am at work a mugshot with a couple of ryvita, combined with a couple of Belvita breakfast biscuits. Around 300 calories for that lot.

Dinner is then a normal evening meal, but, instead of a jar of curry mix poured over chicken it will be something made from scratch. Depending on mood his will be anywhere from 185 to 600 calories.

It is well documented that an adult male intake should be no more than 2,500 calories. Some days I am struggling to make 1200, the absolute minimum required to survive.

If you a trying to lose weight do NOT “go on a diet”. Change the diet you already have.

One of the biggest motivators for me has been to log everything I eat on MyFitnessPal. It will total my calories, take account of excercise I do (via my iPhone of Apple Watch) and will tell me when I am approaching limits for sodium, carbs, fat etc.

If you choose to use the app, go for it, but bear this in mind: for the first week make no changes to your diet, just get used to logging. Then look at where you can save a few calories. Instant Coffee with one sugar is 97 calories. Three coffees and a belvita biscuit is not a good breakfast! Perhaps if you need the coffee you can drop the mid afternoon choccy bar and substitute it with a piece of fruit or a measured quantity of nuts…

Oh, and eat breakfast. Every single day.

