Tags

, ,

It has now been more than five months since my “revelation” about my weight and my decision to do something about it.  Back in June I mentioned that I was 17 stone 13 pounds when I started.  I am happy to report that as of now I am 15 stone 3 pounds.  That’s 213 pounds or 96.6 kilos.

I still have some way to go, I have modified my target from 14 stone (196lb) to about 12.5 stone (175lb) which will still take me some time, but I am up for it.

The change of diet has worked quite well.  I have settled into a porridge pot for breakfast, the apple & blueberry and strawberry, raspberry & cranberry having settled in as the preference from the sweet cinnamon when I started.  Lunch normally consists of a mug shot (sweet ‘n sour or sweet ‘n’ smoky BBQ noodles for preference) with two or three dark rye Ryvita and Belvita biscuits.

Dinner is often a healthy home made affair which my lovely wife cooks from recipes she is finding all over the web, but primarily at allrecipes.

Calorie count most days struggles to meet 1,200 units but this is easily supplemented by a bit (50 grams ish) of the beautiful New Forest Rum and Raisin ice cream.

I paid a visit to the doctor a couple of weeks ago for spirometry and the practice nurse confirmed that I do have mild asthma, aggravated by exercise.  This would explain why I couldn’t breathe when starting the Couch to 5K a few months ago.  I have an appointment with the Asthma nurse in January so, with a bit of luck I should be able to deal with any issues when running and can start that again, along with some sessions at the gym.

Wish me luck!

