Tags

, , , ,

As I suspect for everuone that makes/crafts, the run up to Christmas is the busiest time of the year.  Generally I will spend just a couple of hours a week at the lathe during Monday to Friday and then depending on want I will spend a Saturday or Sunday in the workshop.

Since the beginning of December I have been in the workshop most evenings, whether it’s for pens or bowls for commissions, pens for stock or the rare occasion when I get to make/try something new.

All orders for Christmas now complete, I have one pen left to make for a family gift.  I have been playing with making snowmen and other Christmas related turnings.  Well, I say “men”, I have made two snow people this year.  I started with with the standard snowman with a top hat and he lonely.  I named him Horace and made him a wife during the same week.  She is called Mrs Wimp.  I haven’t taken photos of them yet, I will when I have some light and time.

I also got some time to play with the Joyner Off Centre jig that I received a while ago from the Ruth Niles website.

pendant

It took me a couple of hours of playing to get the pendant you see above, and it proved to me that I need to be even more accurate with the placement of and the depth of the cut. For a first attempt though, I am happy with this.

Final play for the moment is the hanging bauble below.

bauble

The top and bottom are dyed beech, I have no idea what the wood is in the middle.  I actually made two top and bottom finials, the first ones were too chunky (bottom) or too small (top) and just didn’t look right.

During Christmas week I am aiming to complete a project “challenge” that Martin over at The Black Dog Workshop set for the workshop members yesterday.  I won’t give it away, but it’s not a christmas ornament!

